Select Page

Edexcel BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma in Health and Social Care

What’s it about?

This broad qualification is designed to prepare students for a range of careers in health and social care. 

BTEC Nationals are RCF Level 3 qualifications designed to provide highly specialist work-related qualifications in a range of vocational sectors. They give learners the knowledge, understanding and skills which they need to prepare for employment. This qualification has been designed to be the only qualification in a two-year, full-time study programme, it is an in-depth study of the health and social care sector. It supports progression to health and social care related degrees. 

Entry Requirements:

We would recommend a BTEC Level 2 Merit in Health and Social Care and a GCSE Level 4 in English.    





Mrs. S.Canavan – Director of Teaching and Learning

    The Canterbury Academy Sixth Form

    Course Content:

    The units you will study include: 

    • Human Lifespan Development (external examination). 
    • Working in Health and Social Care (external examination).  
    • Anatomy and Physiology (external examination). 
    • Enquiries into Current Research in Health and Social Care (externally marked). 
    • Meeting Individual Care and Support needs (internally marked). 
    • Work Experience in Health and Social Care (internally marked). 
    • Principles of Safe Practice in Health and Social Care (internally marked). 
    • Promoting Public Health (internally marked). 
    • Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs (internally marked). 
    • Physiological Disorders and their Care (internally marked). 
    • Caring for Individuals with Dementia (internally marked). 
    • Assessing Children’s Development Support Needs (internally marked). 
    • Nutritional Health (internally marked). 

      This subject involves 100 hours of work experience in a health or social care placement to enhance your understanding of the subject. Students are also encouraged, where possible, to carry out voluntary work in one of these sectors. 

      This subject is assessed through internal and external assessments and is the equivalent of three A Levels.  Assignments are spread evenly throughout the two years. 

      1080 GLH (1530 TQT) is equivalent in size to three A Levels. 13 units of which 8 are mandatory and 4 are external. Mandatory content (72%). External assessment (42%). 

      The course begins with two externally examined units, both of which require at least a near pass to continue onto the second year of the course.  





      This carries UCAS points for progression to university. Previous students have gone on to study, adult nursing, mental health nursing, midwifery, social work, occupational therapy, speech therapy, physiotherapy, care work, child care work and paramedic science.  


      Related employment in this sector 



      The Canterbury Academy Sixth Form Course List